Please log in or Register. Thanks.
Please log in or Register. Thanks.
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Do I need a receiver?

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Areksoo
Active User
Active User

Rep : 13
Registration date : 2010-01-12

Do I need a receiver? Empty
PostSubject: Do I need a receiver?   Do I need a receiver? Icon_minitimeTue May 03, 2011 9:40 am

I'm a complete noob to audio, so bare with me.

I bought a Panasonic soundbar for my Panasonic TV. I figure this would be the easiest set up. I finally got my HMDI cable in the mail, so I hooked it up last night.

On the soundbar, there are HDMI ports: IN and OUT. The way they explain it is to connect the DVR to the soundbar and the soundbar to the TV. This works, but if I switch to PS3, it goes back to TV speakers.

I just want the audio from my TV to output to the soundbar. Can this be done? Or do I need to route mt DVR and PS3 through a receiver to soundbar to TV?

My TV is the Panasonic VIERA Plasma TC-P50S30 and my soundbar is the Panasonic SC-HTB520

https://panasonic.ca/english/audiovideo/plasma/tcp42_46_50s30.asp
https://panasonic.ca/english/audiovideo/hometheatre/SCHTB520.asp
Back to top Go down
zzz3
Active User
Active User
zzz3

@PSN : ZUEY
Registration date : 2010-01-14

PostSubject: Re: Do I need a receiver?   Do I need a receiver? Icon_minitimeTue May 03, 2011 1:58 pm

you dont need a receiver.

what kind of pvr is it? not that it matters, but take an optical cable from the pvr optical out to the soundbar optical in. for video you can use hdmi or component from the pvr hdmi/component out to the tv hdmi/component in.

for your ps3 take the hdmi out to the soundbar hdmi in.

finally take the hdmi out on the soundbar to the hdmi in on the tv.